Applications for the Transition and Consecration Committees are Still Open

Bishop Search Retreat Discussion 2 - cropped

Dear Friends,

I hope that you were able to read the recent update regarding the kicking off of our search process. It’s truly exciting to see this process get started and to see all the great things the Bishop Search Committee is going to accomplish in the next few months.

The Bishop Search Committee isn’t the only group tasked with our eventual election of the ninth bishop of West Missouri. Our Transition and Consecration committees will begin meeting in earnest, next year.

As previously announced, our Transition Committee will be led by Canon Shirley Bolden and Rev. Collin Larrimore. However, they can’t do all this work alone! The Standing Committee is still accepting applications for the Transition Committee. Members of this committee will primarily be responsible for introducing the slate of candidates to the diocese as they visit West Missouri. If you’re interested in learning more about this work or applying, please click here.  

Additionally, our Consecration Committee, led by Rev. Adam James and Rev. Barbara Wegener, will also need a group of dedicated individuals to plan the consecration of the ninth bishop of West Missouri. The Standing Committee is still accepting applications for the Consecration Committee. Members of this committee will primarily be responsible for planning the events related to our new bishop’s consecration. If you’re interested in learning more about this work or applying, please click here.

For those of you who previously indicated any interest in these committees but were not selected, we will utilize your previous application.

The deadline for applications is 12/31/2023. Please be sure to complete your application by that date. The Standing Committee plans on naming the complete committees in January.

Please let us know if you have any questions.

"O Creator God, giver of every good gift, look graciously on us in the Diocese of West Missouri and guide us as we discern our call of a new bishop. O Jesus, be present in our discernment, and lead us to a shepherd who will invite us to live out the Gospel every day. O Holy Spirit, inspire us with your wisdom, and kindle our hearts with the fire of your love, that we may be renewed as we prepare to welcome the ministry of our next bishop. This we ask trusting in You. Amen."

The Standing Committee of the Diocese of West Missouri

Dr. Jeremy Chesman, St. James Church, Springfield
Ms. Alexandra Connors, St. Paul’s Church, Kansas City
The Rev. Larry Ehren, St. Mary Magdalene Church, Belton
The Rev. Ted Estes, St. Phillip’s Church, Joplin
The Rev. Canon Robin L. James (Vice President), Grace Church, Liberty
Ms. Marsha Patterson, Christ Church, Springfield
Mr. Eric Rhodes (President), St. Anne’s Church, Lee’s Summit
The Rev. Ron Verhaeghe, Christ Church, Warrensburg


For questions about the nomination process or other details regarding the bishop search, contact us by clicking the button below.

Scroll to Top